Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for an Osteopathic Medical Faculty Certificate.
These DOs may only practice medicine in conjunction with a full time faculty position at an accredited medical school in the State of Florida and its affiliated clinical facilities or teaching hospitals. This certificate is only valid for 2 years and cannot be renewed.
General Licensure Requirements:
- Graduation from an osteopathic medical school approved by the American Osteopathic Association (AOA).
- Successful completion of a 12-month rotating internship approved by the AOA or successful completion of a residency approved by the Board upon a showing of good cause by the applicant (see Rule 64B15-16.002, F.A.C.).
- Must pass all three (3) parts of the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME) exam within 5 years of application or licensure in another state, or a substantially similar exam approved by the Board. The Board does not consider the USMLE or FLEX exams to be comparable to the NBOME.
- If licensed in another state, have actively and continuously engaged in the practice of osteopathic medicine for the period time after being initially licensed with interruption to practice totaling no more than 2 years (or for a longer period of time if the Board determines that the interruption of the osteopathic physician’s practice has not adversely affected the physician’s present ability and fitness to practice osteopathic medicine).
- Meet all general licensure requirements set forth in Section 459.0055, F.S. relating to character, age, past discipline, etc.
- File a completed application and pay all required fees. Refer to application instructions for a list of specific documents and information needed.
Section 456.013(1)(a), Florida Statutes, provides that a licensure application and fee are valid for one year. Application fees are non-refundable.
The licensing process involves the collection of credentials from the applicant and other sources, such as hospitals, medical schools, other states, etc. Once documents are received, an application specialist will review them; however, it may be necessary for the application specialist to request additional information or clarification regarding a particular document. Our goal is to review materials as quickly as possible, but we must be thorough. We process applications, mail, e-mails, and telephone calls in date order.
Staff will mail you a deficiency letter approximately two weeks after receiving your application, so please refrain from contacting our office until after you have received your initial deficiency letter.
Some applicants may have to appear before the Board at one of their regularly scheduled meetings before a license can be issued. Reasons for an appearance include previous disciplinary action in another state, malpractice, criminal history, health history and other application deficiencies. Having one of these issues is not an automatic appearance as each application is reviewed on a case by case basis. You will be notified in writing if your appearance will be required.
We recommend that you do not make any commitments based upon expectation of licensure until you are actually licensed. One application is not accelerated at the expense of another- all applicants are handled equally and fairly.
Application Fee: $400.00 (non-refundable)
You will be connected to the Florida Legislature website, which is the official custodian of the statutes.
Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.)
You will be connected to the Florida Department of State: State Library and Archives of Florida website, which is the official custodian of the administrative codes.