FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY

NAME: LICENSE NUMBER: DO

MAILING ADDRESS:

CITY: STATE: ZIP:

Note: Mailing Addresses are not published on the internet

The Financial Responsibility options are divided into two categories: coverage and exemptions. Choose only one option of
the ten provided pursuant to s.459.0085, Florida Statutes.

CATEGORY I: _Financial Responsibility Coverage for Florida Practice Only

1. [ ] |donothave hospital staff privileges and | have obtained and maintain professional liability coverage in an amount not less than
$100,000 per claim, with a minimum annual aggregate of not less than $300,000, from an authorized insurer as defined under s.
624.09 FS, from a surplus lines insurer as defined under s. 626.914(2) FS, from a risk retention group as defined under s.
627.942 FS, from the Joint Underwriting Association established under s. 627.351(4) FS, or through a plan of self-insurance as
provided in s. 627.357 FS.

2. [ ] Ibhave hospital staff privileges and | have obtained and maintain professional liability coverage in an amount not less than
$250,000 per claim, with a minimum annual aggregate of not less than $750,000, from an authorized insurer as defined under s.
624.09 FS, from a surplus lines insurer as defined under s. 626.914(2) FS, from a risk retention group as defined under s.
627.942 FS, from the Joint Underwriting Association established under s. 627.351(4) FS, or through a plan of self-insurance as
provided in s. 627.357 FS, or through a plan of self-insurance which meets the conditions specified for satisfying financial
responsibility in s. 766.110 FS.

3. [ ] Idonot have hospital staff privileges and | have obtained and maintain an unexpired, irrevocable letter of credit, established
pursuant to chapter 675 FS, in an amount of not less than $100,000 per claim with a minimum aggregate availability of credit of
not less than $300,000. The letter of credit shall be payable to the osteopathic physician as beneficiary upon presentment of a
final judgment indicating liability and awarding damages to be paid by the osteopathic physician or upon presentment of a
settlement agreement signed by all parties to such agreement when such final judgment or settlement is a result of a claim arising
out of the rendering of, or the failure to render, medical care and services. Such letter of credit shall be nonassignable and
nontransferable. Such letter of credit shall be issued by any bank or savings association organized and existing under the laws of
this state or any bank or savings association organized under the laws of the United States that has its principal place of business
in this state or has a branch office which is authorized under the laws of this state or of the United States to receive deposits in
this state. OR | do not have hospital staff privileges and | have established and maintain an escrow account consisting of cash or
assets eligible for deposit in accordance with s. 625.52 FS in the per-claim amounts specified above.

4. [ 1 Ihave hospital staff privileges and | have obtained and maintain an unexpired, irrevocable letter of credit, established pursuant to
chapter 675 FS, in an amount not less than $250,000 per claim, with a minimum aggregate availability of credit of not less than
$750,000. The letter of credit shall be payable to the osteopathic physician as beneficiary upon presentment of a final judgment
indicating liability and awarding damages to be paid by the osteopathic physician or upon presentment of a settlement agreement
signed by all parties to such agreement when such final judgment or settlement is a result of a claim arising out of the rendering
of, or the failure to render, medical care and services. Such letter of credit shall be nonassignable and nontransferable. Such letter
of credit shall be issued by any bank or savings association organized and existing under the laws of this state or any bank or
savings association organized under the laws of the United States that has its principal place of business in this state or has a
branch office which is authorized under the laws of this state or of the United States to receive deposits in this state OR | have
hospital staff privileges and | have established and maintain an escrow account consisting of cash or assets eligible for deposit in
accordance with s. 625.52 FS in the per-claim amounts specified above.

5. [ 1 [Ihave decided not to carry malpractice insurance or otherwise demonstrate financial responsibility; however, | agree to satisfy
any adverse judgments pursuant to the terms and conditions contained in s. 459.0085(5)(g), FS. | understand that | shall be
required to either post notice in the form of a sign prominently displayed in the reception area and clearly noticeable by all patients
or provide a written statement to any person to whom medical services are being provided. Such sign and statement shall state
that: Under Florida law, osteopathic physicians are generally required to carry medical malpractice insurance or otherwise
demonstrate financial responsibility to cover potential claims for medical malpractice. YOUR OSTEOPATHIC PHYSICIAN HAS
DECIDED NOT TO CARRY MEDICAL MALPRACTICE INSURANCE. This is permitted under Florida law subject to certain
conditions. Florida law imposes strict penalties against noninsured osteopathic physicians who fail to satisfy adverse judgments
arising from claims of medical malpractice. This notice is provided pursuant to Florida law.
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CATEGORY II:_Financial Responsibility Exemptions

6.[ ] | practice medicine exclusively as an officer, employee, or agent of the federal government, or of the state or its
agencies or its subdivisions.

7.[ 1 Ihold alimited license issued pursuant to s. 459.0075, F.S., and practice only under the scope of such limited
license.

8.[ ] I practice only in conjunction with my teaching duties at an college of osteopathic medicine. (Residents do not
qualify for this exemption.)

9.1 Ido not practice osteopathic medicine in the State of Florida. | will notify the department immediately before
commencing practice in the state.

10.[ ] 1'am exempt from demonstrating financial responsibility due to meeting all of the following criteria** See note below:

(&) I have held an active license to practice in this state or another state or some combination thereof for more than

15 years.

(b) I am retired or maintain part-time practice of no more than 1,000 patient contact hours per year.

(c) I have had no more than 2 claims resulting in an indemnity exceeding $25,000 within the previous 5 year period.

(d) I have not been convicted of, or pled nolo contendere to any criminal violation specified in s. 459, F.S., or the

practice act of any other state.

(e) 1 have not been subject, within the last 10 years of practice, to license revocation or suspension for any period of
time, probation for a period of 3 years or longer, or a fine of $500 or more for a violation of s. 459, F.S., or the medical
practice act of another jurisdiction. The regulatory agency's acceptance of an osteopathic physician's relinquishment of a
license, stipulation, consent order, or other settlement, offered in response to or in anticipation of the filing of administrative
charges against the osteopathic physician's license, shall be construed as action against the physician's license for the
purposes of this section. | understand that | shall be required either to post notice in the form of a sign prominently displayed
in the reception area and clearly noticeable by all patients or to provide a written statement to any person to whom medical
services are being provided. Such sign or statement shall state that: Under Florida law, osteopathic physicians are generally
required to carry medical malpractice insurance or otherwise demonstrate financial responsibility to cover potential claims for
medical malpractice. However, certain part-time osteopathic physicians who meet state requirements are exempt from the
financial responsibility law. YOUR OSTEOPATHIC PHYSICIAN MEETS THESE REQUIREMENTS AND HAS DECIDED
NOT TO CARRY MEDICAL MALPRACTICE INSURANCE. This notice is provided pursuant to Florida law.

** |f you select an exemption based on based on #10, you must also complete the affidavit on the following page.

Physician Signature Date
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
BOARD OF OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE
Financial Responsibility Affidavit of Exemption

This affidavit is only required if you are claiming an exemption based on #10 on the preceding page.

l, , do hereby certify and attest that | meet all of the following

criteria:

(a) | have held an active license to practice in this state or another state or some combination
thereof for more than 15 years;

(b) 1 am retired or maintain part time practice of no more than 1000 patient contact hours per
year;

(c) | have had no more than two claims resulting in an indemnity exceeding $25,000 within the
previous five-year period;

(d) 1 have not been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any criminal violation
specified in Chapter 459, F. S. or the medical practice act in any other state; and

(e) | have not been subject, within the past ten years of practice, to license revocation,
suspension, or probation for a period of three years or longer, or a fine of $500 or more for a
violation of Chapter 459, F. S., or the medical practice act of another jurisdiction. A regulatory
agency's acceptance of a relinquishment of license, stipulation, consent order, or other
settlement offered in response to or in anticipation of filing of administrative charges against
a license is construed as action against a license. | understand if | am claiming an exception
under this section that | must either post notice in a sign prominently displayed in my
reception area or provide a written statement to any person to whom medical services are
being provided that | have decided not to carry medical malpractice insurance. See Section
459.0085(5) (f), F.S., for specific notice requirements.

Dated: Signature:

STATE OF FLORIDA
COUNTY OF

Sworn to (or affirmed) and subscribed before me this day of , by

(Signature of Notary Public - State of Florida)

(Print, Type, or Stamp Commissioned Name of Notary Public)
Personally Known OR Produced Identification

Type of Identification Produced
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