Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for Active Duty Military and Veterans Temporary Certificate to Practice in an Area of Critical Need.
Active Duty Military and Veterans Temporary Certificate to Practice in an Area of Critical Need
These DOs practice medicine as described under Full Licensure; however, this license is restricted to practice in the following areas: an area of critical need; a county health department; a correctional facility; a Department of Veterans’ Affairs clinic; a community health center funded by s. 329, s. 330 or s. 340 of the United States Public Service Act; another agency or institution approved by the State Surgeon General that provides health care to meet the needs of underserved populations in this state; or an area for a limited time to address critical physician-specialty, demographic or geographic needs for Florida’s physician workforce as determined by the State Surgeon General.
General Licensure Requirements:
- The applicant must hold an active and valid license to practice osteopathic medicine in any US jurisdiction
- The applicant must be on active duty in the United States Armed Forces or served as a commissioned medical officer in the United States Armed Forces for at least 10 years and received an honorable discharge
Please refer to the application for additional requirements and required documentation.
Section 456.013(1)(a), Florida Statutes, provides that a licensure application and fee are valid for one year. Application fees are non-refundable.
The licensing process involves the collection of credentials from the applicant and other sources, such as hospitals, medical schools, other states, etc. Once documents are received, an application specialist will review them; however, it may be necessary for the application specialist to request additional information or clarification regarding a particular document. Our goal is to review materials as quickly as possible, but we must be thorough. We process applications, mail, e-mails, and telephone calls in date order.
Staff will mail you a deficiency letter approximately two weeks after receiving your application, so please refrain from contacting our office until after you have received your initial deficiency letter.
Some applicants may have to appear before the Board at one of their regularly scheduled meetings before a license can be issued. Reasons for an appearance include previous disciplinary action in another state, malpractice, criminal history, health history and other application deficiencies. Having one of these issues is not an automatic appearance as each application is reviewed on a case by case basis. You will be notified in writing if your appearance will be required.
|Initial Licensure Fee:||$429.00 (only if compensation will be received)|
Please make certified checks or money orders payable to: “Department of Health” or “DOH”. Applicants applying on-line may pay by credit or debit card.
You will be connected to the Florida Legislature website, which is the official custodian of the statutes.
Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.)
You will be connected to the Florida Department of State: State Library and Archives of Florida website, which is the official custodian of the administrative codes.